10 marks bebeh..

1. How can you initiate, sustain and direct activities in an ICT lesson to motivate students?

During my Year 4 class, i taught the pupils how to import an image and add text using adode photoshop CS3. Initially i showed them an image of a duck that i imported from the internet. From there, i added text to the image. I told the pupils that this is what they are going to do for today’s lesson.

I told them to open the application and teach them the step by step procedure to import an image. Once all the pupils are able to import an image, i proceed to teaching the step by step procedure for adding text to an image using the pen tool. Here i let them play with the font type, font size and colour. Then i asked the pupils if they can move the text another part of the image using a certain tool on the toorbar. Most of the pupils are able to locate the move tool and move the text to another part of the image. I usually go round the class to observe their performance and praise them on their work.

2. How can you help students plan, monitor and modify their cognition to develop self-regulated learning of students in ICT?

During my Year 4 class, I give direct feedback to the pupils. I guide the pupils the step by step procedures on how to import an image and add text to it using the text tool. I go round the class to monitor their progress. If I see only one or two pupils have difficulty then I help them personally and ask them to try and correct their mistakes. If I see that most of the class has difficulty then I repeat the whole procedure step by step again to the class.

Leave a comment