Day 22 (16/03/09)

For my Year 1 class, I carried forward the last lesson because last week, I only have time to teach the pupils how switch on the computer. For this lesson, I taught the pupils how to switch off the computer. At the beginning of the class, I wanted to see if the pupils remember how to switch on the computer, so I ask them to switch on the computer themselves. They were excited and were able to switch on the computer themselves. Next I ask them to navigate the mouse cursor to the centre of the screen and right click and ask them to observe what they saw on the screen. Next, I ask them to go to the ‘Recycle Bin’ icon and left click and ask them to observe what they saw on the screen. Finally, I asked them to double click on the ‘Recycle Bin’ icon and observe what they saw. Some of the pupils have difficulty in double clicking.

I then ask the pupils to navigate the mouse cursor to the ‘Start’ icon on the bottom left hand corner of the screen and left click once. Then I asked them to go to the ‘arrow’ icon and select ‘shut down’. Most of the pupils have difficulty in reading, so I asked them to select the bottom one (shut down is last on the list of drop down menu).

For my Year 4 class, I taught the pupils to add text using the text tool and crop an image using the crop tool. But first, I reviewed the last lesson and ask them to open an image. All of them were able to do it. I instruct the pupils to add text to the image and let them play with the font type, size and colour.

Next I showed the pupils the step by step procedure to crop an image using the crop tool. I instruct the pupils to crop the image. Most of the pupils were able to crop an image except one or two who needed assistance.

One of the pupils work

One of the pupils work

After cropping

After cropping

The creators of the work above

The creators of the work above

 

Leave a comment